American Keeper of the Flame Award

During the week of February 10, HPBA presented two outstanding members of Congress with our inaugural American Keeper of the Flame Awards. This year’s awardees were Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) and Representative Collin Peterson (D-MN). Both have shown extraordinary commitment to the hearth industry and its future success. In the past few years, each introduced legislation that would have extended the effective date of the NSPS Step 2 (if enacted) and both have made numerous outreach attempts to regulatory agencies on behalf of the industry. In the future, this award will be given to one Senator and one Representative each session of Congress (every two years) who have gone above and beyond to help the hearth and/or barbecue industry.